top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Sailor's Log

Senior finds home in choir program

By Emily Kuznar

Staff Writer


They say the holiday season is the most wonderful time of the year.

And for one senior it could not have gotten any more wonderful as he was chosen to be the 35th Angel of the Singing Christmas Tree.

“It came to me as quite a shock because I really didn’t think I would be chosen,” senior Cameron Picard said. “When (choir director Shawn) Lawton told me, I was really happy, and I gave him a big hug. Mr. Lawton said I was chosen because of my work ethic. It was really nice to know that my hard work in the class had finally paid off.”

Now that Singing Christmas Tree is over, Picard says the feeling is bittersweet.

“Tree was so much fun this year,” Picard said. “It was a good ending to my story. It’s hard to know that I’ve devoted all of my high school career to choir, and now, it’s all over. And the fact that I was chosen as the Angel only makes it harder to say goodbye.”

Lawton said that Picard perfectly represents what the choir stands for.

“Although he isn’t the guy getting all the solos and leading roles, he has such a deep, yet unassuming type of passion for the choir program,” Lawton said. “He just loves it and has found comfort here, and it’s like a second family to him. Cameron is genuine, kind, caring and unique in his own kind of nerdy way, and he doesn’t apologize for it. He makes us laugh and is just a nice student to be around.”

In addition to Lawton, Picard said his classmates have also helped him throughout his choir journey.

“We’re like a family,” Picard said. “We’re all friends outside of school, and it’s nice to know that you always have people supporting you. It’s a family that you’ll have forever.”

Senior Ethan Boersma said no one was more deserving than Picard to be at the top of the tree.

“Cam is a great friend to everyone, and he is always willing to help people,” Boersma said. “Cam is very weird and funny, but he’s so nice and supportive of everyone. He has made me realize that choir is something that unites everyone, no matter who you are. I can forget about my problems and just have fun.”

Knowing that this is his last year of choir, Picard said he is feeling mixed emotions.

“While I’m excited to be moving into the next chapter of my life, I’m sad to know that one of my favorite parts of high school is ending,” Picard said. “Tree has been one of my favorite things, and I hate to see it end. It really does go by fast.”

But before it ends, Picard said he knows that he couldn’t have been the angel without the help of one important person.

“Mr. Lawton has helped me the most throughout my choir journey,” Picard said. “He’s always been there for me, and he taught me to never give up. He’s completely honest with us, but it makes us all better. He has impacted me more than anyone.”

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

First angel from 1984 recalls her choir experience

By Sarah Roman Staff Writer It was the winter of 1984 and a young sophomore, Patricia (Whittaker) Green, just found out that she would be the first angel in the first Singing Christmas Tree. “I tried

Former hockey player builds industrial arts program

By Chris Horvath Staff Writer Industrial arts teacher Pat Rabbitt took the long route to get to Shores – literally. Raised in Merritt, British Columbia, Canada, Rabbitt eventually ended up 3,665 miles

bottom of page