top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Sailor's Log

Holiday Hodgepodge

By Holli Brus, staff writer


Hanukkah

“My favorite part is the prayers, I am the one in my family that lights the candles and says the prayers out loud. For me, the prayers give me a good feeling inside and make me feel proud of my beliefs. My family’s biggest tradition is to sit around the table as the candles burn and play a few games of dreidel, in this game you play for chocolate pieces and each of the four signs has a Hebrew word representing a different word on it.” – Alex Breuker, senior

What – Hanukkah is a Jewish holiday that celebrates the victory of the Maccabees over a much bigger Assyrian Army. It is a time where Jewish families come together and spend time with one another while enjoying lots of food, games, and prayers.

When – Hanukkah is eight days starting Dec. 22 and lasting until Dec. 30.

Menorah – The menorah is a set of nine candles (four on each side with one in the center for lighting) that symbolizes light, and gratifies the burning of the oil. The oil should have only lasted a day, but instead, it lasted for eight, helping the army see.


Kwanzaa

Since a survey did not reveal any students who celebrate Kwanzaa, these two famous people were quoted instead. “We have religious holidays, and we have secular holidays. I see Kwanzaa as an opportunity for African-Americans to reaffirm ourselves if we choose to, a chance to rebuild and renew our focus. I see Kwanzaa as a holiday of the spirit.” – Jessica B. Harris (College Professor/Author/Culinary Chef)

“My kids learn more about their culture and heritage during these seven days than they do all year at school. I just really like celebrating Kwanzaa. The kids get more connected by learning about important principles while honoring our ancestors” – Holly Robinson Peete (actress/singer)

What – Kwanzaa is not a religious holiday, but instead a time where many celebrate the African American culture through rituals, readings, giving gifts, and a feast.

When – Dec. 26-Jan. 1

Kinara – The kinara is similar to the menorah. It holds seven candles: three red, three green, and one black. The candles represent Kwanzaa’s seven principles which are unity, self-determination, collective work and responsibility, cooperative economics, purpose, creativity, and faith.

Christmas

Column by Holli Brus, staff writer

There is no better time than Christmas time. Christmas is an extremely festive time of year, with a deeper meaning than just the gifts. Even though gifts are a nice bonus, the time spent with friends and family is what makes Christmas so special.

My Christmases tend to look different than most households since not only do I celebrate Christmas once but at least four times each year.

My parents are divorced, so I celebrate Christmas with both of them, each with different quirks and traditions.

On top of that, I get to celebrate Christmas with my grandparents on my mom’s and dad’s side.

My favorite part of Christmas with my mom is definitely when the family is gathered around the tree, and we get to open our stockings.

The stockings are normally filled with fun little knick-knacks or candies.

Our faith is definitely a big part of Christmas too, which is why at my dad’s house, we all read the Christmas story before opening our gifts.

Another fun thing during Christmas is when my friends and I do a secret Santa gift exchange.

Basically, each person secretly purchases a gift for someone while that someone else is secretly getting a gift for someone else.

This year, we are having a party where we are all wearing Christmas pajamas and are going to binge watch some Christmas movies.

To me, Christmas is best spent around those I love and being grateful for what I have.

What – Christmas is a Christian religious holiday that celebrates the birth of Jesus Christ, the savior of mankind. It is normally spent with family and friends where gifts are shared among all.

When – Dec. 25

Nativity Scene – It is a recreation scene of when and where Jesus was born and symbolic to the Christian faith.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Junior with spina bifida perseveres through life

By Samantha Sewick Staff Writer Most juniors are stressing about meeting a deadline for a class, staying up all hours finishing homework, or stressing about writing that essay for English class. Howev

New form of social media dominating social platforms

By Sydney Fetters Staff Writer You’ve probably seen it; if you haven’t, where have you been? Messy bun in place and scrunchy fastened around the wrist, a girl dances while lip-syncing to the song “Obs

bottom of page