top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Sailor's Log

Junior with spina bifida perseveres through life

By Samantha Sewick

Staff Writer


Most juniors are stressing about meeting a deadline for a class, staying up all hours finishing homework, or stressing about writing that essay for English class.

However, junior Devon Schippers not only stresses about all those things, but also she has additional stress that stems from a slightly different place.

When Schippers was born, she was diagnosed with spina bifida, a birth defect that occurs when the spinal cord and spine don’t form correctly. For someone with spina bifida, life dramatically changes.

“It was so scary to know that I’d have to grow up differently than other kids,” Schippers said. “I didn’t realize that when I was really young, but then I understood that my life was going to be way different than everybody else’s.”

Schippers was diagnosed with myelomeningocele, the most intense form of spina bifida.

Spina bifida isn’t the only challenge that has affected Schippers, though. Within the last four years, Schippers was diagnosed with scoliosis also.

Schippers has spent her days walking through a revolving door at the entrance to the hospital.

“During my freshman year, I spent almost the entire time in the hospital having back surgery,” she said. “It was really complicated for the doctors because of the spina bifida.”

Having spent so much time in hospitals and meeting with doctors, Schippers said she is working double-time to catch up on all she’s missed in her life.

For her, every day, there can be a scare.

“Little things that most people don’t think much of, like going to the beach, are scary for me, said Schippers, whose spina bifida causes nerve damage all the way down her legs, which causes no feeling in them. “What happens if I accidentally step on glass?”

Schippers’s story is one of many that continue to inspire and encourage students and families alike to never take anything for granted.

Schippers, however, tries not to let any of her setbacks affect her mindset, telling those around her, “You really need the positivity in order to get through a tough time.”

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Holiday Hodgepodge

By Holli Brus, staff writer Hanukkah “My favorite part is the prayers, I am the one in my family that lights the candles and says the prayers out loud. For me, the prayers give me a good feeling insid

New form of social media dominating social platforms

By Sydney Fetters Staff Writer You’ve probably seen it; if you haven’t, where have you been? Messy bun in place and scrunchy fastened around the wrist, a girl dances while lip-syncing to the song “Obs

bottom of page