top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Sailor's Log

How my crybaby ways help me with emotions

Column by Bailey Graham, staff writer


I’m not a stranger to tears. I’ve been called a crybaby by strangers and even loved ones.

I know that my eyes will open all flood gates at the drop of a hat, and it’s my most embarrassing character trait.

Tears for me come during almost every emotion – when I’m sad, when I’m angry, when I’m tired, and even when I’m happy; tears rule my whole life.

Not so long ago, I was a stressed and depressed young woman in the midst of extreme homework assignments, tons of commitment for school and work, and to top it off, I was going through a lot of emotional trauma from having to part from my best friend.

Through all of my baggage and life issues, the only thing I could do was try to move on and be emotionally stoic, and when I fell short, tears were my comfort.

They wrapped me up in a ball of content. I could feel the pain and desperation flowing out my body and down my face.

Tears were my escape from the pain and frustration. It brought a sense of relief to me when nothing else could.

My emotional strength isn’t the strongest, so tears wash away and deal with my negative baggage. Tears were my only coping mechanisms, and they succeeded at their job.

My tears have become my therapists and friend, but they aren’t appreciated by everyone. Those around me who cared disliked spotting tears run down my face.

Even though my loved ones found my crying painful to watch, it wasn’t something I could stop. I didn’t want it to stop. Even though the tears seem never ending, after a couple of days the waterworks dried out and I had finished my period of comfort.

Following this, I could go through my days and get back to my daily routine. I was back and better than before. I was strong and in an amazing mood, I was in a peppy state of mind. Of course I would get the occasional self doubts but that is normal and should be expected.

Crying helps express my emotions and lets me dump out the negative through the form of salty droplets. It’s beneficial to my well being but only to a certain extent. Although my tears help me calm down and get over the thing bothering me, I cry way too much.

My relationships, moral strength, and how I view myself have been ruined by crying. The frustration of life doesn’t fair well with my emotional strength, and I take the frustration and turn it into waterworks.

Tears take the pain away, but the embarrassment of giving in to the comfort of tears stays. I might cry too much, but society has turned the idea of tears into a weakness.

Although crying takes away your control of emotions, tears are a normal way of life and should be embraced as such. Everyone has the right to cry free of judgment.

Crying helps the soul by providing a cleanse of negativity. The tears that flow down your face release emotions rather than letting them build up. Being upset is a human experience and tears should be socially acceptable.

Tears provide a sense of relief like a massage.

Now please excuse me as I go cry away the tragedy of my Chromebook dying at school.


November 14 2019

See more content in our actual newspaper available at Mona Shores High School or local businesses around the Muskegon area.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Impeachment proceedings wrong

Column by Chris Horvath, staff writer In 1868, President Andrew Johnson was impeached for, according to the United States Congress, “high crimes and misdemeanors.” In 1998, President Bill Clinton was

Recent post sparks debate yet again

By the staff of The Sailor's Log Here we are, back again, in the same old spot, the path too often traveled if you will. All too frequently we find ourselves in the midst of a little bit of a failure

bottom of page