top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Sailor's Log

Impeachment proceedings wrong

Column by Chris Horvath, staff writer


In 1868, President Andrew Johnson was impeached for, according to the United States Congress, “high crimes and misdemeanors.”

In 1998, President Bill Clinton was impeached for perjury (lying under oath in a trial).

In 2019, our current President is possibly going to be impeached FOR NOTHING.

What is important to understand is that neither of the first two was removed from the office of President because the removal process was not completed by the end of their tenures.

And the same will possibly happen again.

Democratic members of Congress are claiming that President Trump used the power of his office to “dig up dirt” about his political opponents.

However, I believe that’s a lie just to try to get him impeached because they don’t like him. The House of Representatives cannot impeach a President because there are people who don’t like him or don’t agree with his views.

It is mortifyingly ignorant to think it’s OK to impeach a President for disliking his policy, and that’s what’s happening now.

Even I, with my far-right conservative ideology, would never be OK with a Democratic President getting impeached for the wrong reason(s). While I would most likely disagree with their rhetoric and agenda, I have the common sense and the decency to note that my party lost the election and that I would have to go through a time period where my President is making decisions I don’t necessarily endorse.

I wish that most Democrats could learn this skill.

Having to deal with a President I don’t agree with already happened for me during President Obama’s time in office. I disagreed with decisions he made, but I never once said that President Obama should’ve been impeached based solely on the fact that he and I think differently. He did nothing illegal or to the extent that he should have been impeached, regardless of our differing opinions.

All of the hate against our President spawns from the 2016 election. Democrats were so mad, so bitter, and so shocked they lost the election that they chose to act like children and reject the results of the election.

They’ve tried countless tactics to undo the election. When President Obama was elected in 2008, Republicans didn’t make up false accusations and stories in an attempt to undo the election, so why are Democrats doing that now?

Democrats like Nancy Pelosi and Maxine Waters have been shown on camera and in interviews saying repeatedly that we “need” to impeach this President but gave no reasoning or facts behind it.

However, the true reasoning came out on May 4, 2019: Representative Al Green of Texas is quoted on NBC news saying, “I’m afraid if we don’t impeach this President, he will get reelected.”

That’s what it’s about. Not the Constitution, not the facts, not any of these ridiculous fake stories like “Russian hacking” (which was a proven lie), it’s about power and bitterness. Every different excuse or new reason, according to Democrats, that calls for impeachment has been proven wrong. They don’t care about the integrity of our country, the way our Constitution was written, or the honor that comes along with serving in any seat in the United States government; they care about power.

They have gone to these lengths to try to impeach this President because they don’t agree with him on policies. It’s sad.

I believe it’s a coup. Democrats are trying to overturn the government because they want power for themselves, for their side of the aisle, and it’s beyond asinine of them to do such a thing.

I couldn’t be happier to say that I am going to vote to retain President Trump in 2020. A few of our President’s great achievements include strong economic growth, some of the lowest unemployment in history, a strong military presence, and the release of tension between North Korea and our country, the ending of a war that has been going on since 1950.

It may be shocking to hear, but I hope our President gets impeached because if he does, he’ll be the first President to ever be impeached and then reelected, and I cannot wait to see the looks on the Democrats faces when that happens.

And here comes the liberal tears, yet again.


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

How my crybaby ways help me with emotions

Column by Bailey Graham, staff writer I’m not a stranger to tears. I’ve been called a crybaby by strangers and even loved ones. I know that my eyes will open all flood gates at the drop of a hat, and

Recent post sparks debate yet again

By the staff of The Sailor's Log Here we are, back again, in the same old spot, the path too often traveled if you will. All too frequently we find ourselves in the midst of a little bit of a failure

bottom of page