top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Sailor's Log

Netflix Originals: Reviewed for you

By Sarah Roman, staff writer


Fractured

Rating: 8.62985/10

Mind. Blown.

This movie had me going insane. There were plot twists galore and my brain couldn’t handle it.

Fractured is about a father, Ray Monroe (Sam Worthington), who believes a hospital is hiding dark secrets after he takes his wife (Lily Rabe) and injured daughter (Lucy Capri) there to get help.

By the way, the daughter’s name was Periwinkle, and it took me a while to get over it and accept that was her name. It’s a wack name, but I’m not one to judge… well, maybe a little.

When the movie first started, frankly, I was bored. Not much was going on, and the wife wouldn’t stop saying, “Ray,” and boy, was that annoying. If I had a dollar for every time the wife, Joan, said “Ray,” I would be a millionaire and buy myself and my friends some nice new Teslas. David Dobrik should watch out.

All they were doing, in the beginning, was arguing in the car while the daughter listened to her music, off in her own little world while her parents are arguing over their failing marriage.

Toward the middle of the movie, it started to get better.

I thought I knew what was going to happen, I thought I knew what was going on, but I was incorrect.

This movie took such a hard left turn that I ended up on the floor in shock. My brain couldn’t process the ending.

Confusion, frustration, anger, and what the heck just happened were just a few things I felt while watching the entirety of this movie.


Secret Obsession


Rating: 2.1342/10

London Tipton, what are you doing in this god awful movie?

Seriously, this movie is terrible. The actors aren’t the greatest, the main character is crippled through the entire movie, and it’s way too predictable.

Secret Obsession is about a young woman named Jennifer, who is played by Brenda Song a.k.a London Tipton from Disney’s Suite Life franchise, waking up with amnesia after a vicious attack.

Her husband stands by her and helps her recover, but there are a few things that he’s telling her that just don’t add up, like the fact that he’s her husband.

I watched the trailer before watching the movie. The trailer for this movie is basically the entire movie in three minutes. It gives away the entire mystery and thrill that this movie is supposed to portray.

One thing that bothered me the most was that the main character, who was supposed to be the heroine, was crippled the entire movie. She was also a bit clueless when it came to about, well, everything.

Secret Obsession is the perfect movie for a chill, dumb movie night in.

Have you ever seen those movies that are so dumb that they’re funny? Not this movie, it’s just dumb. I expected better of London Tipton. I think she needs to go back to the Tipton Hotel and go hang out with Zack and Cody.

This movie lacks originality. I feel like I’ve heard about or seen a hundred different movies just like this one. Of all the good and thoughtful original movies Netflix has, this is not one of them.

Tall Girl

Rating: 7.4356/10

OK girls, you think your life is hard? Try being a high school junior and wearing size 13 men’s Nikes. Beat that.

The movie Tall Girl is about a girl named Jodi Kreyman (Ava Michelle). She’s 6’1”, and that’s basically her entire personality.

The amount of memes I have seen about this movie on Tik Tok is insane. I admit, they are really funny.

This movie follows her struggles with being tall and all of her boy issues.

It’s a typical teen movie.

There’s a boy who’s hopelessly in love with Jodi, but the main character isn’t interested even though the boy is actually a great guy.

His name is Jack Dunkleman (Griffin Gluck), and for the life of me, I couldn’t remember his name during the movie. I kept calling him Dunkin’ Donuts.

He’s sadly stuck in the space between the words “boy” and “friend” called the friendzone.

That’s when a new love interest comes in from Sweden, named Stig, and screws everything up for Dunkin’ Donuts.

The hopeless romantic in me admits that there are some cute scenes between the main character and her two love interests. Even though some of the moments had me shaking my head.

This movie treats being tall like it’s so out of the ordinary that it’s a miracle that this girl can function like a normal human being. But in all honesty, it’s not a bad movie.

It has some cute and funny moments sprinkled throughout the movie. One last thing, she isn’t even that tall.

Otherhood

Rating: 6.1927/10

A mid-life crisis. That is what this entire movie is about.

Otherhood is about three mothers ambushing their sons (Jake Lacy, Sinqua Walls, Jake Hoffman) who live in New York. They stay with them and disrupt their lives and cause chaos.

I didn’t really like this movie; in fact, I was on my phone for a lot of it. Due to this lack of focus, I was confused at a few scenes.

The parts I did watch were awkward, and I could feel the second-hand embarrassment through the screen.

The mothers – Helen (Felicity Huffman), Gillian (Patricia Arquette), and Carol (Angela Bassett) – aren’t the greatest mothers in the world. Motherhood is difficult, and mothers have flaws, but in this movie, they just overdo it.

Helen is self-absorbed, Jillian is shoving girls in her son’s face and Carol is critical of her son’s life decisions.

There was one scene that embodied the whole mid-life crisis that was happening. It was when the moms went clubbing and partied like it was 1970.

While this movie was a comedy, I didn’t really laugh. Honestly, this is more of a chick-flick kind of comedy.

One thing that bothered me was that these 30-something-year-old men have really nice apartments in New York when New York is so expensive. Unrealistic New York apartment living if you ask me.

I wasn’t sure what I was expecting going into this movie, so I’m not sure if I’m disappointed or not.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Wingin' it

Food review by Sarah Roman, staff writer National chicken chain overrated The fan-favorite wing place: Buffalo Wild Wings. I have gone many times to Buffalo Wild Wings, 5648 Harvey St., after high sch

Counseling about Consoles

Review by Kye Sieffert Playstation wins best game station around The Playstation 4 ($229.99), the newest system released from Sony, is best for exclusive games, which are games only available on the P

bottom of page