top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Sailor's Log

Shores bodes well for sophomore from Whitehall

Column by Aidan Cook, staff writer


As a school of choice student myself, I have my own reasons for coming to Shores back in 2018 at the beginning of my freshman year. The main reason that I decided not to attend Whitehall and chose Shores is the great academic opportunities here.

All of the honors and AP classes provide an environment perfect for learning and allowing me to be the best student I can be. I am sure many other school of choice students feel the same.

There are also lots of other reasons students come here, such as the triple threat of arts, athletics, and academics.

Another thing that is good about this school is all of the clubs. There is a large variety of clubs here for all types of interests, from the Disc Golf Club to the Mindfulness Club.

Another thing that made me want to go to Shores is the great staff. All of the teachers, administrators, and coaches make Shores an enjoyable place to go to school. All of the staff really care about the school and the students, and their positive attitudes create a positive environment.

A part of going to Shores that I have really enjoyed is the sports. I was on the cross country and track teams last year, and I enjoyed both. The sports teams are accepting of new members. They make doing what I love enjoyable.

The PRIDE Matrix is also an important part of what makes Shores a place that school of choice students want to go to. That is has helped me to be the best student I can be.

For me, the most important PRIDE letter is Engagement. If students are engaged and focused on their goals, then they can achieve them. In a school where everyone is engaged, a lot of work gets done and time isn’t wasted.

The other PRIDE letters couldn’t exist without engagement. How are students supposed to have integrity or discipline if they aren’t even engaged? That is why the most important letter on the PRIDE matrix is Engagement.

What makes Shores such a special place is the great sense of school pride. Shores is a fantastic place where everyone is welcoming and everyone pushes each other to succeed.

My experience at Shores has been a good one so far. Everyone here is nice and welcoming. The people of the Shores community are a big part of why school of choice students choose Shores.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Holiday Hodgepodge

By Holli Brus, staff writer Hanukkah “My favorite part is the prayers, I am the one in my family that lights the candles and says the prayers out loud. For me, the prayers give me a good feeling insid

Junior with spina bifida perseveres through life

By Samantha Sewick Staff Writer Most juniors are stressing about meeting a deadline for a class, staying up all hours finishing homework, or stressing about writing that essay for English class. Howev

bottom of page